Logo

FOSSi Dial-Up is the premier online event around Free and Open Source Silicon and EDA tools. It features selected speakers from the rapidly developing FOSSi ecosystem.

Upcoming New
  • Our current set of episodes focuses on the topic "Evolving Communities". Free and Open Source Silicon and its ecosystem has existed for at least 20 years now and it has seen ups and downs and a rapid growth just over the last couple of years. Learn more about how developer communities changed over time, which challenges they faced and how they benefit from latest developments.
  • Wilson Snyder - Looking back at 25 years of Verilator

    April 27, 2021 15:00 GMT, 16:00 BST, 8:00 PDT, 23:00 CST

    Wilson Snyder, primary author of Verilator, talks of Verilator, the open source RTL simulator's, inception in 1994, major milestones, adapting use cases over time, and futures.

    About the speaker: Wilson Snyder is a Distinguished Engineer and a lead silicon architect with Marvell in Marlboro, Massachusetts. A graduate of Rensselaer, he also known for his contributions to public domain CAD tools including Verilog-Mode for Emacs, and Verilator.

    Watch on Youtube

  • Philipp Wagner - The long path to a sustainable cocotb community

    May 25, 2021 16:00 GMT, 17:00 BST, 9:00 PDT, 23:59 CST

    Cocotb is a highly productive hardware verification approach using Python as test language. Since its first release in 2013 cocotb has constantly grown in popularity. Which is great! And a challenge. Providing support to users, agreeing on a development roadmap, and ultimately implementing, testing and releasing features and bug fixes requires a lot of resources -- certainly more than one or two developers can provide. After a more quiet period cocotb is now maintained collaboratively by a group of maintainers, which has solved the capacity issues nicely.

    In this talk, Philipp will present a bit of history on cocotb, how maintaining popular software is challenging, and ways the cocotb project found useful to solve those issues. Of course we'll also look at some of the newest features of cocotb and how they make verifying hardware even more productive.

    About the speaker: Philipp is one of the maintainers of cocotb, a FOSSi Foundation director, and hardware and software engineer at lowRISC in Cambridge, UK.

  • Jonathan Balkind - Growing OpenPiton

    June 22, 2021 16:00 GMT, 17:00 BST, 9:00 PDT, 23:59 CST

    For six years, OpenPiton has provided hardware designs, build and verification scripts, and other infrastructure to enable efficient, detailed research into manycores and systems-on-chip. It enables open-source hardware development through its open design and support of a plethora of open simulators and CAD tools. OpenPiton was first designed to perform cutting-edge computer architecture research at Princeton University and opening it up to the public has led to thousands of downloads and numerous academic publications spanning many subfields within computing.

    In this talk, Jonathan will share some of the lessons learned during the development of OpenPiton, provide examples of how OpenPiton has been used to efficiently test novel research ideas, and discuss how OpenPiton has evolved due to its open development and feedback from the open-source community.

    About the speaker: Jonathan is the lead developer of the OpenPiton platform and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Sponsors
Past Events